Thanks-vember 17 & 18. Oops

18 Nov

Well, I’m embarrassed. A few days ago I wrote about how I am a writer because I am writing, every day. And then yesterday, I forgot.

It’s not like I didn’t want to write. It’s not that I couldn’t find the willpower or the time or a subject to write about. I just forgot.

I didn’t even do anything important yesterday. Ok, sure, I did some homework. I had rehearsal for that Christmas show I’m working on. But I also took a nap and watched an old episode of How I Met Your Mother. Not exactly an A+ workday.

Because of that, I owe you not one but TWO things I am thankful for today:

1) I am thankful for naps. When I was a child, I refused to take naps. I hated being forced to lay down in the middle of the day, when there were so many other exciting things to do. In college, I rediscovered the power of a power nap. The joy of a snuggle nap (with a pet or someone you like to cuddle). The necessity of a nap after a late night (of studying, of course). I learned to fit in sleep whenever I could grab it – after class, in the library, in my car. Now, thankfully, I am not in school AND working full time, but I still enjoy a nap.

2) I am thankful for all the resources available to teachers today. It can be somewhat overwhelming, but if you know how to weed through it, Pinterest, Twitter, WordPress, even Facebook, can all be amazing resources for teachers. I have been writing lesson plans for class, and have been pulling ideas from fellow teachers from all around the world. The internet allows for global collaboration, in a way that has never before been possible. I communicate regularly with teachers in other cities and states – and even have a friend who teaches in Dubai. However, it’s not just the internet – go to any bookstore and check out the Education section. I’m not saying all the resources out there are great – I’m sure there are some books and websites full of terrible advice for teachers. But, part of being a functional member of modern society is knowing how to pick out the good information from the bad. I’m just thankful that I ‘m not alone in this.

Additionally, I am lucky enough to have resources in my classmates, professors, and mentor teachers. Each one of them provides a unique view on education and teaching. No one is telling me to “drink the kool-aid” and swallow one specific ideology whole. I am trusted, as an adult, a learner, and a teacher, to find what I think is best.

One Response to “Thanks-vember 17 & 18. Oops”

  1. RLT November 19, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Your thankfulness is contagious :] thank you!

    I especially love your last sentence. I agree, that for the most part I feel trusted as a learner and teacher amongst our peers, professors, mentors. And this makes me WANT to learn more, makes me more engaged and accountable to my work. We have talked theoretically about power and trust in relation to OUR relationships with students. I think this is a great example for us of the potential power of empowering our students through trusting them WHOLLY as learners and teachers and autonomous human beings.

    Again, thank you!

Leave a Reply

My Thoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

THE PLEASE CATALOGUE

between thought and expression lies a lifetime.

Teacher Post Script

Reflecting on my learning

PE teachers

Physical education in Finland and elsewhere

The fascinating world of the Orca K-8 school garden!

Sustainability, social justice, and organic agriculture at a South Seattle Public K-8 School.

Continuous Everywhere but Differentiable Nowhere

I have no idea why I picked this blog name, but there's no turning back now

Learning to Fold

a work in progress

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

Heather Wolpert-Gawron

Teacher, Author, Speaker, EdTech Advocate

The Jose Vilson

Educator - Writer - Activist - Father

dy/dan

less helpful

ponderinged

Just another WordPress.com site

Teacher in Training

Just another WordPress.com site

newtoteach

Just another WordPress.com site

Elementary Thots

Thoughts on elementary education.

teach2learn4equity

Theoretical and Experiential Journeys of a Teacher in Training

youjustgotschooled

My journey of getting schooled

