Thanks-Vember 9

9 Nov

I am incredibly thankful for my friends.

I’m thankful for all of my friends – I know some amazing people. But I’m going to call out four particularly amazing ladies. If you had told me, ten years ago, that I would have four really close female friends, I would never have believed you.

But here I am.

One I’ve known since middle school. We lived across the street from each other. We went to different schools but sang in church choir together. Our moms arranged a carpool. She convinced me to attend high school with her, instead of with the rest of my middle school. I joined the drama class because of her. Now we live in separate cities but when I see her it’s like no time has passed – except we get to tell each other stories of things we have missed in each others lives. My dad officiated her wedding. She’s not a friend, she’s family.

One I went to high school with, but didn’t become friends with until college. We were introduced by a mutual friend, who suggested we carpool to a sailing class together. Eight years later, I call this woman my sister. I don’t think I would have survived my early twenties without her. Seriously – I lived on her couch for a month when I didn’t know what I was doing with my life. Again, we don’t live in the same city currently, but when I get to see her, like today, my life gets so much better.

One I met through a guy. He was my “best friend” and she started dating him. I remember teasing him about his new girlfriend, endlessly. Then he turned out to be a jerk and she turned out to be one of the best people I have ever met. A few years ago, I got to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. (She married a really great guy, so I guess dating the jerk was just a one-time thing.) They just had a beautiful baby girl who I can’t wait to meet.

One I have only known for about two years. We met while in a show together. We were both fairies in A Midsummer Night’s Dream. We started dating our men-folk at around the same time. And this past summer, my man-friend officiated her wedding, in which I was the maid of honor. I am so excited to be a part of their lives, and to have them be a part of ours.

Growing up, I was always amazed at the friends my parents had. Friends they had known for decades. Friends who had children older than me, or my age – and friends with no children. Friends they would see once a year, but who they considered their “very close friends.” I didn’t understand that, but now I do.

I wouldn’t be where I am today without my girlfriends. I sat on my “sister’s” couch and filled out my applications for my teaching program. I made her read my admission essay 5 times. I talk about teaching science and math and gardening with my 6th grade neighbor. My friend who just had the baby – she was teaching undergrad classes until she gave birth. These ladies are my rocks and my inspiration, and I know I wouldn’t have made it through the first quarter of this program – let alone through this past month – without them.

Some people meet their best friends in elementary school. Some people meet them in middle school. Some people don’t meet until later, but you really never know who you’re going to stay with – until 16 years later you’re still friends. I look at my students and wonder. Will they still be friends 10  years from now? 20? Most of my middle school students have already known each other for at least 7 years (they start in kindergarten). What kind of friendships will they have when they are my age? I hope they have something similar.

Best friends doesn’t mean you see a person every day. It doesn’t mean daily or even weekly phone conversations. It means someone you can count on, no matter what. No matter when the last time you spoke, no matter what. You might give them advice, and they might give you advice. And maybe that advice is ignored – but it doesn’t matter. The friendship is what matters. Because best friends aren’t just friends, they are family.

One Response to “Thanks-Vember 9”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. End of Quarter Reflection: Fall « Teacher, Becoming. - December 9, 2012

    […] this one about using words like “gay” in the classroom. ome were more personal, such as this one about my dearest friends, and some were just for fun. For the most part, I managed to blog once a day for the whole month. […]

Leave a comment

My Thoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

THE PLEASE CATALOGUE

between thought and expression lies a lifetime.

Teacher Post Script

Reflecting on my learning

PE teachers

Physical education in Finland and elsewhere

The Orca K-8 School Garden Blog!

Sustainability, social justice, and organic agriculture at a South Seattle Public K-8 School.

Continuous Everywhere but Differentiable Nowhere

I have no idea why I picked this blog name, but there's no turning back now

Learning to Fold

a work in progress

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

Heather Wolpert-Gawron

Teacher, Author, Speaker, EdTech Advocate

Even From Here

Day by day

The Jose Vilson

Architect for a Hopeful Future

dy/dan

less helpful

ponderinged

Just another WordPress.com site

Teacher in Training

Just another WordPress.com site

newtoteach

Just another WordPress.com site

Elementary Thots

Thoughts on elementary education.

teach2learn4equity

Theoretical and Experiential Journeys of a Teacher in Training

youjustgotschooled

My journey of getting schooled