Thanks-Vember 6th

6 Nov

I am thankful for the right to vote.

100 years ago, women did not have a legal voice in this country. With the passing of the nineteenth amendment in 1920, the right to vote finally given to American women.

Fun fact – the state in which I reside, Washington, gave women the vote in 1883 – when it was still a territory, – then promptly voted for prohibition. The law was overturned four years later. Women officially got the vote in 1910, after “distancing” the suffrage movement from prohibition.

I am very passionate about many ballot measures and political races this year, and many of my friends and family may not agree with me. However, we all have a say. I am so thankful to the women (and men) who worked tirelessly for years to give me that right.

Today, women have a say in their lives – in their careers, their health decisions, and in how their country is run. Thank you, Suffragettes!

One Response to “Thanks-Vember 6th”

  1. lotsirb November 9, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Wow – tears! That was such an amazing and powerful video homage. I loved the original (love me some GAGA), but I think I like this one more. Wow. Wow. I made sure my daughter watches me vote every time I fill in my ballot. Unbelievable we’ve had the vote for less than 100 years. Birth control was illegal 50 years ago, believe it or not. (and, just as crazy, it’s STILL a political issue!!!) WTF?

    A bit different than the Mary Poppins song Sister Suffragette! 🙂 (but same great message)

Leave a Reply

My Thoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

THE PLEASE CATALOGUE

between thought and expression lies a lifetime.

Teacher Post Script

Reflecting on my learning

PE teachers

Physical education in Finland and elsewhere

The fascinating world of the Orca K-8 school garden!

Sustainability, social justice, and organic agriculture at a South Seattle Public K-8 School.

Continuous Everywhere but Differentiable Nowhere

I have no idea why I picked this blog name, but there's no turning back now

Learning to Fold

a work in progress

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

Heather Wolpert-Gawron

Teacher, Author, Speaker, EdTech Advocate

The Jose Vilson

Educator - Writer - Activist - Father

dy/dan

less helpful

ponderinged

Just another WordPress.com site

Teacher in Training

Just another WordPress.com site

newtoteach

Just another WordPress.com site

Elementary Thots

Thoughts on elementary education.

teach2learn4equity

Theoretical and Experiential Journeys of a Teacher in Training

youjustgotschooled

My journey of getting schooled

