Singing in the classroom

23 May

One of our readings earlier this quarter described a classroom where the students all sang together. Remember, we don’t have to sing “Twinkle Twinkle” or “Old MacDonald.” We can sing things like Matisyahu, and have amazing classroom moments like this.

3 Responses to “Singing in the classroom”

  1. professorjvg May 23, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    Love this. I think that I when I have read Sapon Shevin I was imagining something sort of sweet and sentimental, and that didn’t completely work for me, but imagine singing ourselves into a sense of strength and hope!

    Thanks for posting!

  2. imgettingschooled May 28, 2012 at 2:47 am #

    This was really cool. When we did singing in my classes in school they were all songs that we all know like “twinkle twinkle little star” or “I’ve been working on the railroad.” That was fun and all, but they weren’t songs we were listening to or were relevant to us. I think we begin to do a disservice to music in elementary school. That music to children can only go as far as nursery rhymes and have little meaning outside of singing for fun. We can teach that music is a powerful thing and even if you don’t feel comfortable singing on your own, as a group it always sounds great.

    I love Matisyahu by the way!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sometimes in my tears I drown « Teacher, Becoming. - December 15, 2012

    […] And I remembered this video that I posted earlier this spring: […]

Leave a Reply

My Thoughts

Just another WordPress.com site

THE PLEASE CATALOGUE

between thought and expression lies a lifetime.

Teacher Post Script

Reflecting on my learning

PE teachers

Physical education in Finland and elsewhere

The fascinating world of the Orca K-8 school garden!

Sustainability, social justice, and organic agriculture at a South Seattle Public K-8 School.

Continuous Everywhere but Differentiable Nowhere

I have no idea why I picked this blog name, but there's no turning back now

Learning to Fold

a work in progress

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

Heather Wolpert-Gawron

Teacher, Author, Speaker, EdTech Advocate

The Jose Vilson

Educator - Writer - Activist - Father

dy/dan

less helpful

ponderinged

Just another WordPress.com site

Teacher in Training

Just another WordPress.com site

newtoteach

Just another WordPress.com site

Elementary Thots

Thoughts on elementary education.

teach2learn4equity

Theoretical and Experiential Journeys of a Teacher in Training

youjustgotschooled

My journey of getting schooled

